Home / About

About UL System

The University of Louisiana System is one of the largest higher education systems in the country.

The University of Louisiana System is a public, multi-campus university system dedicated to the service of Louisiana and its people. The System offers a broad spectrum of educational opportunities ranging from technical training at the associate level to research at the doctoral level. It encompasses nine diverse higher education institutions: Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, University of Louisiana at Monroe, and University of New Orleans. While these nine institutions share the responsibility for providing high-quality educational opportunities for the people of Louisiana through a lifetime of intellectual growth, each institution's specific mission is shaped by its historic and unique strengths.

Mission & Vision

The fundamental mission of the System is to emphasize teaching, research, and community service to enhance the quality of life for the state's citizens. Through this mission, students are afforded experiences to discover, create, transmit, and apply knowledge. The purpose of the System is to provide high quality education that is cost efficient to both students and taxpayers, enabling students to reach their highest potential.

Student Enrollment

91,500 students

We are the largest higher education system in Louisiana

41% Male
59% Female


receive TOPS

Undergraduates receive Pell Grants

The Universities of Louisiana

We are Louisiana's Largest Higher Education System

Graduates in 2018-19

students graduated in 2018-19

59% of Louisiana graduates 1,222 in Engineering
58% of Louisiana graduates 2,633 in Business
66% of Louisiana graduates 1,896 in Education
79% of Louisiana 4 year graduates 1,323 in Nursing
100% of Louisiana 4 year graduates 106 in Pharmacy

Who We Are


  • Founded in 1974 as the Board of Trustees for State Colleges and Universities

  • Name changed in 1998 to the University of Louisiana System and transferred five community colleges to the Louisiana Community and Technical College System

  • In 2011, the University of New Orleans joined the UL System as the ninth university


  • 16-member Board of Supervisors

  • 15 appointed by the Governor for 6-year terms

  • 1 student member selected by UL System SGA Presidents each May


  • UL System President Dr. Jim Henderson since January 2017

  • Board Chair Mark Romero since 2019

  • Board Vice Chair James Carter since 2019

  • Board Parliamentarian Elizabeth Pierre since 2019


  • $783.6 million Operating Budget for FY 2015/16

  • 30% ($235.8 million) State Funds

  • 70% ($647.8 million) Self-Generated Revenue


Cutting-edge research includes nanobiotechnology, coastal restoration, 3D visualization, supercomputing, and pharmacology

Become a part of the UL System family

Support our mission to enhance the quality of life for Louisiana's citizens.