Brook Sebren Selected to Serve on UL System Board

BATON ROUGE – The Student Government Association (SGA) Presidents from University of Louisiana System campuses today elected Brook Sebren to serve as the new Student Member on the UL System Board of Supervisors.  Sebren, who is the SGA President at the University of Louisiana at Monroe (ULM), will assume his duties at the June 25 UL System Board meeting in Baton Rouge.

“We have over 80,000 students, which make us the largest system in the state; but, putting our students first is what makes our system great.  God has blessed me with the ability to serve my peers, and I pledge to be respectful to the board and continue to make our system successful,” said Sebren.

Sebren is a senior Business Administration major.  In addition to his service as SGA President, he is the National Undergraduate Chairman of the Kappa Alpha Order fraternity and President of the Interfraternity Council at ULM.

“We’re always excited when we have new student board members because they bring new perspectives and ideas.  I look forward to working with Brook,” said UL System President Randy Moffett.

The 16-member Board is constitutionally created with 15 members selected by the Governor for six-year terms and one student member elected annually from the eight SGA Presidents.  Sebren will assume the duties of outgoing student member Steven Jackson from Grambling State University.

“Our board has been fortunate to have exceptional student members.  I have no doubt that Mr. Sebren will continue that tradition of excellence,” said UL System Board Chair Winfred Sibille.

Current members of the Board are Chair Winfred Sibille of Sunset, Vice Chair Wayne Parker of Choudrant, Parliamentarian Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Paul Aucoin of Thibodaux, Elsie Burkhalter of Slidell, Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Edward Crawford, III of Shreveport, Mildred Gallot of Grambling, E. Gerald Hebert of Kenner, Jeffrey Jenkins of Baton Rouge, Renee Lapeyrolerie of New Orleans, Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches and Carl Shetler of Lake Charles.  Two appointed seats are currently vacant.

The UL System is the largest higher education system in the state with eight universities that enroll almost 82,000 students.  The eight universities are Grambling, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and ULM.