The McNeese State University Search Committee today selected three finalists, Neil Aspinwall, Daryl Burckel and Jeanne Daboval, to present to the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System for consideration. The Board will meet April 20 in Baton Rouge to interview the finalists and select a president.

“The Committee enjoyed hearing from four impressive candidates today,” Dr. Jim Henderson, UL System president and search committee chair, said. “All three candidates have a strong grasp on the economic changes happening in the commuity.”

The Committee considered four semifinalists during a two-day process that included student, faculty, staff and community meetings on Monday and interviews today.

“McNeese is an institution filled with talented students, faculty and staff, and both finalists indicate they will put a strong emphasis on meeting students’ needs,” McNeese Student Government Association President Caleb Prince said. “I think either finalist will listen to students’ concerns and act to create a better student environment on campus. Geaux Pokes!”

Voting members of the Search Committee include UL System board members James Carter, John Condos, Thomas Kitchen, Alejandro Perkins, Elizabeth Pierre, Virgil Robinson, Mark Romero, Robert Shreve, Winfred Sibille and Student Board Member Antonio Torres. Also serving as a voting member is McNeese Faculty Senate President Matthew Butkus.  

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are McNeese Student Government Association President Caleb Prince, McNeese Foundation President Willie Mount, McNeese Alumni Association President Kevin Caldwell and community member Vic Stelly. UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson serves as the non-voting Committee chair.

McNeese President Philip Williams, who led the university the past seven years, announced his retirement in January. The Board hopes to have a new leader in place prior to June 30, Williams’ last day.
Click here for latest on the McNeese Presidential search.

Photos of finalists:

Neil Aspinwall

Daryl Burckel

Jeanne Daboval