The Nicholls State University Presidential Search Committee selected six semifinalists to interview next month for the school’s top post.

The semifinalists are:

  • Jay Clune, Interim Dean, University of West Florida
  • Eugene Dial, Vice President for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Education, Nicholls State University
  • John Doucet, College of Arts and Sciences Dean, Nicholls State University
  • Marcheta Evans, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Shawn Mauldin, Director and Professor of Accounting, Mississippi State University
  • Wade Rousse, Executive in Residence, Northern Arizona University


“It was a tremendous challenge to narrow a field of 15 talented candidates to six but I am confident the Committee chose the right group to move forward in the process,” UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson said. “At the end of this process, Nicholls State will have a strong leader who will work with faculty, staff, and stakeholders to meet the needs of the bayou region.”

Candidates will sit for public interviews on Nicholls’ campus in early November to select finalists who will interview with the UL System Board Nov. 14.

“We have an impressive pool of semifinalists and I am excited to welcome them to campus next month,” Nicholls Student Government Association President Tommy Thibodeaux said. “I encourage students on campus to get involved in the process.”

UL System staff will release a detailed interview schedule when it is finalized. In addition to public interviews, candidates will meet with Nicholls faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members.


“I’m very impressed with the Committee’s due diligence in identifying the best candidates for Nicholls State University,” UL System Board Chair Alejandro “Al” Perkins said. “We have a good group of people who are committed to doing the best job for Nicholls.”   

Chairing Nicholls State University’s search committee is UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson as a nonvoting member. Voting members include Nicholls Faculty Senate President David Whitney and UL System Board Members James Carter, Beau Martin, Shawn Murphy, Al Perkins, Elizabeth Pierre, Mark Romero, Winfred Sibille and Student Board Member Ben Rice. Nonvoting members are Nicholls SGA President Tommy Thibodeaux, Nicholls Foundation President Chris Riviere, Nicholls Alumni Association President Paula Arcement Rome and community representatives including Kirt Chouest, Bishop Shelton Fabre, Alice Pecoraro and Donny Rouse.


Last month Nicholls President Bruce T. Murphy announced his intentions to transition from the university’s top post by the end of the year. Information regarding the search will be posted on as it becomes available.