The University of New Orleans Presidential Search Committee today selected two finalists, Andrew Kopplin and John Nicklow, to present to the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System. The Board will meet Feb. 23 in Baton Rouge to interview the finalists and select UNO’s eighth president.  
“I think we have two strong finalists to present to the Board next week,” Dr. Dan Reneau, UL System interim president and search committee chair, said. “Both candidates have unique ties to Louisiana and have innovative ideas and skills that will advance UNO’s mission as a metropolitan research institution, improve student life and enhance the University’s impact on the community.”

Five semifinalists sat for public interviews this week on UNO’s campus. Additional information about the finalists including headshots, bios and video of the search committee’s interviews is available here.

“It was exciting to show off UNO’s campus and community to the five semifinalists this week,” UNO Student Government Association President Joy Ballard-Oliver said. “I think either finalist will listen to students’ concerns and act to create a better student environment on campus.”
Voting members of the search committee include UL System board members Maggie Brakeville of Ruston, James Carter of New Orleans, Edward Crawford III of Shreveport, Pamela Egan of Covington, E. Gerald “T-Boy” Hebert of Kenner, Jimmie “Beau” Martin Jr. of Cut Off, Mark Romero of Lafayette, Robert Shreve of Baton Rouge, Winfred Sibille of Sunset and Gary Solomon of New Orleans. Also serving as a voting member is UNO Faculty Senate President Cherie Courseault Trumbach.
Serving as advisory, non-voting members are Delgado Community College Chancellor Joan Davis, UNO Student Government Association President Joy Ballard-Oliver, UNO International Alumni Association President Al Herrera, UNO Foundation Chair Barry LeBlanc, UNO Research and Technology Foundation Chair Russell Trahan and UNO Alumnus/Former Speaker of the House Jim Tucker. UL System Interim President Dan Reneau serves as the non-voting committee chair.
For more information on the search process,