McNeese Presidential Search Forum on Feb. 9

BATON ROUGE – The search committee charged with finding a new president for McNeese State University will meet in Lake Charles next week to gather public input.

WHAT:  McNeese Presidential Search Public Forum

WHEN:  1 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 9, 2010

WHERE: Stokes Auditorium in Hardtner Hall on the McNeese campus

The purpose of the public forum is for the search committee to hear thoughts on desired qualifications for a new president directly from faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members.

The search committee will meet prior to the hearing at 10:30 a.m.  The public is also invited to attend this meeting.  The agenda for both meetings is posted on a special search section of the UL System website,

Those who cannot attend can submit comments to the committee via email at

The 13-member committee is comprised of University of Louisiana System Board Members Paul Aucoin, Elsie Burkhalter, E. Gerald Hebert, Renee Lapeyrolerie, Jimmy Long, Sr., Russell Mosely, Carl Shetler, Winfred Sibille, Student Board Member Steven Jackson and McNeese faculty representative Linda Larson.  Non-voting members are McNeese Student Government Association President Tim Rye and community representative Bob Davidson.  UL System President Randy Moffett serves as the non-voting chair.

The committee will engage a search firm to assist in the national search to replace Robert Hebert, who will retire in June.

Established in 1939, McNeese is classified as a Carnegie Master’s University.  The University enrolls over 8,600 students and primarily serves the five-parish region of Southwest Louisiana.


EIGHT UNIVERSITIES STRONG: The largest higher education system in the state, the UL System enrolls almost 82,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.