MEDIA ADVISORY- UL Lafayette Presidential Search Committee Encourages Attendance at Sept. 12 Meeting

MEDIA ADVISORY- UL Lafayette Presidential Search Committee Encourages Attendance at Sept. 12 Meeting – Sep 7, 2007

BATON ROUGE, La. – The search committee for a new University of Louisiana at Lafayette president will hold its second public hearing on the University’s campus on Sept. 12.

The hearing, hosted by the UL Lafayette Alumni Association, is another opportunity for faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community members to provide input to the search committee. Members of the Lafayette Economic Development Authority, the Cajundome Commission, the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce, and Lafayette City/Parish President Joey Durel are expected to attend.

WHAT: Public Hearing
WHEN: 5 p.m., Wednesday, September 12
WHERE: LITE Center, 537 Cajundome Blvd., Lafayette

“We encourage the public to attend this second hearing but acknowledge the reach of this university extends beyond the immediate Lafayette area. That is why we decided to utilize a variety of means to seek input,” said UL System President and Search Chair Sally Clausen.

For those cannot attend, other ways to submit comments include an online web form at, sending an email to, or leaving a voice message at 225-219-0263.

The first presidential public hearing on June 14 yielded approximately 100 participants, many of whom addressed the committee. The entire hearing can be viewed on the YouTube website,

The priority date for candidate applications is October 1. Advertisements continue to run nationally and more applicants are expected.

Full candidate applications are available at, where a special section has been dedicated to the search. It also contains information about the university, search announcements, news, and important links.

Voting members on the presidential search committee are ULS Board members Paul Aucoin, Elsie Burkhalter, Jeffrey Jenkins, Renee Lapeyrolerie, Jimmy Long, Sr., Wayne Parker, Olinda Ricard (student member), and Winfred Sibille, as well as UL Lafayette Faculty Senate representative John Meriwether.

Serving on the search committee in an advisory, non-voting capacity are community member and UL Lafayette Foundation representative James Prince and UL Lafayette Student Government Association President Candace Urbanowski. UL System President Sally Clausen chairs the committee.

President Ray Authement, the longest-standing public university president in the country at 33 years, announced April 27 he will retire from UL Lafayette.

For More Information Contact:
Jackie Tisdell