Moffett to Recommend Richters as Interim President at ULM

BATON ROUGE – University of Louisiana System President Randy Moffett will recommend the Board of Supervisors appoint University of Louisiana at Monroe Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Stephen Richters as ULM’s Interim President.  The Board may act on Moffett’s recommendation at its June 24-25 meeting in Baton Rouge.

“Dr. Richters’ service to the university including eight years as provost make him the logical choice to lead ULM while the board searches for a new president,” said Moffett.  “His appointment will ensure stability for the campus, especially as higher education continues to operate under budgetary challenges.”

Richters has served as the university’s second-ranking leader since 2002.  His service at ULM began in 1994 when he was hired to lead the Mathematics Department and later as the department grew to include Physics.   He held prior faculty and leadership positions at Arkansas State University, Armstrong Atlantic University, St. Bonaventure University and Wake Forest University.

A mathematician, he holds four degrees: an associate’s degree from Northwestern Connecticut Community College, a bachelor’s degree from Vassar College, and a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Brown University.

After eight years of service, President James Cofer will leave ULM on July 30 to assume the presidency at Missouri State University.  As a result, the UL System Board has initiated a search to find the next president.

The 13-member ULM Presidential Search Committee includes UL System Board Members Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Mildred Gallot of Grambling, Edward Crawford of Shreveport, E. Gerald Hebert of Kenner, Jimmy Long, Sr., of Natchitoches, Renee Lapeyrolerie of New Orleans, D. Wayne Parker of Choudrant, Carl Shetler of Lake Charles, Winfred Sibille of Sunset, Student Member and ULM Student Government Association President Brook Sebren and faculty representative Anna Hill.

Serving in a non-voting, advisory capacity are community representative Tex Kilpatrick and Moffett, who is the non-voting chair.

To get the latest information about the search, visit  Questions and comments can be emailed to

Founded in 1931, ULM is a selective admissions university classified as a Carnegie Master’s L (large) and SREB Four-Year 3 institution. The university offers several undergraduate and graduate degrees to over 9,000 traditional, non-traditional and distance-learning students.  The 238-acre campus located in northeastern Louisiana is home to the only state-supported College of Pharmacy.


EIGHT UNIVERSITIES STRONG: The University of Louisiana System is the largest higher education system in the state enrolling almost 82,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.