Search Committee for Southeastern Louisiana University President to Hold its First Public Meeting

HAMMOND, La. – The committee tasked with naming a new president at Southeastern Louisiana University will hold its first meeting at 11 a.m. Tuesday at Southeastern’s Alumni Center. There will be a public hearing from 1:00 to 2:30 p.m.

WHAT: Public Hearing

WHEN: 1 p.m., Tuesday, September 23, 2008

WHERE: Southeastern Alumni Center, 500 W. University Avenue in Hammond

The purpose of the public hearing is to give faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community members the opportunity to share with the committee their thoughts about important qualifications and priorities for the next President.

The search committee will meet prior to the public hearing at 11 a.m. The public is also invited to attend this meeting. Both meeting agendas are posted on a special search section of the UL System website,

Voting members of the 10-member search committee include UL System Board Members Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Elsie Burkhalter of Slidell, Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Wayne Parker of Ruston, Winfred Sibille of Sunset, and Student Board Member Morgan Verrette of Lake Charles.

Also serving as a voting member is Southeastern Faculty Senate Representative Joseph Burns. Serving in a non-voting, advisory capacity are Southeastern Student Government Association President Zealon Solomon and community representative Daryl Ferrara who was selected by the Hammond Chamber of Commerce. UL System President Randy Moffett serves as the non-voting chair of the committee.

The committee will conduct a national search to replace Moffett, who became UL System president in July.

Southeastern, with more than 14,500 students, was named “a great place to work” this year by The Chronicle of Higher Education.

For more information about Southeastern and the search, visit, and click on the Presidential Search icon.