The University of New Orleans Presidential Search Committee is postponing its meeting scheduled for Dec. 10 to allow the executive search firm, Witt/Kieffer, additional time to identify quality applicants for the position. The tentative timeline the committee released in October will be restructured to reflect this change.

The search committee is looking for a replacement for UNO President Peter Fos, who announced his retirement in August. In October, the Board of Supervisors for the UL System approved the appointment of Randy Moffett as UNO’s interim president. Moffett will officially begin his role as interim president after the first of the year. Moffett, who retired as president of the UL System in 2012, is a former president of Southeastern Louisiana University.

Voting members of the search committee include UL System board members Maggie Brakeville of Ruston, James Carter of New Orleans, Edward Crawford III of Shreveport, Pamela Egan of Covington, E. Gerald “T-Boy” Hebert of Kenner, Jimmie “Beau” Martin Jr. of Cut Off, Mark Romero of Lafayette, Robert Shreve of Baton Rouge, Winfred Sibille of Sunset and Gary Solomon of New Orleans. Also serving as a voting member is UNO Faculty Senate President Cherie Courseault Trumbach.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are Delgado Community College Chancellor Joan Davis, UNO Student Government Association President Joy Ballard, UNO International Alumni Association President Al Herrera, UNO Foundation Chair Barry LeBlanc, UNO Research and Technology Foundation Chair Russell Trahan and UNO Alumnus/Former Speaker of the House Jim Tucker. The UL System president serves as the non-voting committee chair.
The System created a UNO presidential search webpage to ensure the public can access information about the campus and its region; search committee members; meeting notices; press releases; information about candidates; and meeting videos, when available. In addition, the public can submit comments and questions to the committee by emailing