Home / Partners / Service / Service Learning Council

Service Learning Council

Institutions in the University of Louisiana System increased their commitment to providing well rounded education opportunities to its students through programs such as the American Democracy Project and Campus Compact. Consequently, there was a need to establish a Service-Learning Council to identify and facilitate collaborative opportunities for its almost 90,000 students. Established in 2006, the Council meets quarterly.

Grambling State University
Dr. Rory Bedford, Director of Service-Learning

318-274-2547
bedfordr@gram.edu

Louisiana Tech University
Nancy Darland, Professor of Nursing

318-257-2200
ndarland@latech.edu

McNeese State University
Dr. Michael Buckles, Head of the Performing Arts Department

337-475-5034
mbuckles@mcneese.edu


Nicholls State University
Tina Granger

985-448-4610
Tina.Granger@nicholls.edu

Northwestern State University
Steve Gruesbeck, Director of Service Learning

318-357-5911
sgruesbeck@nsula.edu

Southeastern Louisiana University
Dr. Jayetta Slawson, Associate Professor of English

985-549-5024
jayetta.slawson@selu.edu


University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Dr. David Yarbrough, Dean of Community Service (Chair)

337-482-1015
dny4423@louisiana.edu

University of Louisiana at Monroe
Dr. Pamela Higgins Saulsberry, Director of Schools of Social Sciences

318-342-1445
saulsberry@ulm.edu

University of New Orleans
Patrick Stewart, Assistant Provost for Special Projects and Partnerships
504-280-3291
pstewar1@uno.edu


University of Louisiana System
Erica Calais, Vice President for Student Affairs and Governance
225-342-6950
erica.calais@ulsystem.edu


 

Become a part of the UL System family

Support our mission to enhance the quality of life for Louisiana's citizens.