Board Initiates Search for University of Louisiana System President

BATON ROUGE – The Executive Committee of the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System met in Baton Rouge today to initiate a nationwide search for the eighth UL System President.  The goal is to select a new leader by the end of August when current UL System President Randy Moffett is set to retire.

“I know this is an ambitious schedule, but, as with all of our searches, it is flexible and intended to give us a framework.  We are going to find the right person for this job with all due haste, but let me be clear that expedition will not overcome quality,” said UL System Board Chair Wayne Parker.

Advertisements will begin running as soon as possible and a special section of the UL System website devoted to the search,, launched this afternoon.

Parker appointed himself and four other members of the Board to serve on an Application Review Committee that will examine applications and make a recommendation to the Board as to which candidates should be extended interviews.  Serving with Parker will be Andre Coudrain, Jimmy Faircloth Jr., Jimmie “Beau” Martin, and Russell Mosely.

“This Board has a history of successful, open searches for leaders of our universities and system office.  It is my intention to model this search after our tried and true process that has been in place for over a decade.  Elements of this process include advertising nationally, posting applications on the system website, appointing a committee to review applications and make recommendations to the Board, and conducting interviews and all voting in a public setting,” said Parker.

In addition to a special search website, the public can submit comments and questions to the Board by sending an email to

The largest higher education system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls about 94,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and the University of New Orleans.