Burkhalter Reappointed Chair of the UL System Board of Supervisors

THIBODAUX, La. – The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System today unanimously chose to retain its board leadership, re-electing Elsie Burkhalter its chair and Winfred Sibille its Vice Chair. The board also voted to keep Wayne Parker as Parliamentarian.

Burkhalter, who was first elected to the board’s highest role in December of 2007, previously served as vice chair.

“I’m honored to accept the nomination and look forward to a productive year for education in the state,” said Burkhalter, a life-long resident of St. Tammany Parish. President of the St. Tammany Federation of Teachers and School Employees and a former teacher in the St. Tammany Parish School System, Burkhalter was nominated by a committee chaired by board member Russell Mosely.

Sibille will continue his role as Vice Chair after serving on the Board since 1995. In 1989 the Louisiana Association of School Executives named him the State Educator of the Year.

Parker, who has served on the Board of Supervisors since 2003, is a retired executive from Williamette Industries, Inc. of Ruston.

For more information about these and other board members of the Board of Supervisors, visit the UL System website at www.ulsystem.edu and click on “Board of Supervisors.”