UL System Board Chair Al Perkins named a presidential search committee to fill the vacancy at Nicholls State University. The committee is charged with conducting a comprehensive presidential search that engages Nicholls’ students, faculty, staff and alumni as well as the Houma-Thibodaux community.

The committee’s first meeting, scheduled for Monday, Sept. 25 at Nicholls’ Donald G. Bollinger Memorial Student Union Ballroom, will include a forum to gather public comment from the Nicholls community.

Chairing Nicholls State University’s search committee is UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson as a nonvoting member. Voting members include Nicholls Faculty Senate President David Whitney and UL System Board Members James Carter, Beau Martin, Shawn Murphy, Al Perkins, Elizabeth Pierre, Mark Romero, Winfred Sibille and Student Board Member Ben Rice. Nonvoting members are Nicholls SGA President Tommy Thibodeaux, Nicholls Foundation President Chris Riviere, Nicholls Alumni Association President Paula Arcement Rome and community representatives including Kirt Chouest, Bishop Shelton Fabre, Alice Pecoraro and Donny Rouse.

Last week Nicholls President Bruce T. Murphy announced his intentions to transition from the university’s top post by the end of the year. Information regarding the search will be posted on as it becomes available.