The McNeese State University Presidential Search Committee selected four semifinalists to interview next week for the school’s top post.
The semifinalists are: 

  • Neil Aspinwall  Chancellor, SOWELA Technical Community College
  • Daryl Burckel, Accounting Professor, McNeese State University
  • Jeanne Daboval, Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs, McNeese State University
  • Mirta Martin, former President, Fort Hays State University

“It was a tremendous challenge to narrow a field of 15 talented candidates to four but I am confident the Committee chose the right group to move forward in the process,” UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson said. “Lake Charles is in the midst of an economic boom and McNeese’s next leader is charged with meeting the community’s rapidly changing needs.”

Candidates will sit for public interviews on McNeese’s campus April 10 and 11 to select finalists who will interview with the UL System Board April 20.

“We have a strong pool of semifinalists and I am excited to welcome them to campus next week,” McNeese Student Government Association President Caleb Prince said. “I encourage students on campus to get involved in the process.”

UL System staff will release a detailed interview schedule when it is finalized. In addition to public interviews, candidates will meet with McNeese faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members. Comments and questions can be submitted by emailing

Voting members of the search committee include UL System board members James Carter, John Condos, Thomas Kitchen, Alejandro Perkins, Elizabeth Pierre, Virgil Robinson, Mark Romero, Robert Shreve, Winfred Sibille and Student Board Member Antonio Torres. Also serving as a voting member is McNeese Faculty Senate President Matthew Butkus.  

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are McNeese Student Government Association President Caleb Prince, McNeese Foundation President Willie Mount, McNeese Alumni Association President Kevin Caldwell and community member Vic Stelly. UL System President and CEO Jim Henderson serves as the non-voting committee chair.

McNeese President Philip Williams, who led the university the past seven years, announced his retirement in January. The Board hopes to have a new leader in place prior to June 30, Williams’ last day.                                                                             

Click here for latest on the McNeese Presidential search.