Five Candidates Invited to Interview for UL System President

Five Candidates Invited to Interview for UL System President – May 30, 2008

BATON ROUGE – The University of Louisiana System Presidential Search Committee met today and unanimously voted to invite the following five candidates to interview for the top position:

· James E. Cofer, Sr., Ed.D. – President, University of Louisiana at Monroe (Monroe, Louisiana)
· Micheal R. Moffett, Ed.D. – President, Southeastern Louisiana University (Hammond, Louisiana)
· Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. – Executive Vice President, University of Louisiana System (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)
· Jo Ann Rooney, Ed.D., – President, Spalding University (Louisville, Kentucky)
· Ronald J. White, Ph.D. – Senior Fellow, Division of Space Life Sciences, Universities Space Research Association, Center for Advanced Space Studies (Houston, Texas)

The committee’s decision echoed the recommendations of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee that met Tuesday.

“I attended Tuesday’s Advisory Committee meeting, and I assure the Board we had a competent committee that did a very thorough job,” said Board Vice Chair and Search Committee Member Winfred Sibille. “We thank Dr. Authement and all the members of the committee for their time and work.”

The advisory committee included Chair Ray Authement from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Katie Damratoski from Southeastern Louisiana University, John Doucet from Nicholls State University, Rose Harris from Grambling State University, Eddie Meche from McNeese State University, Jerry Pierce from Northwestern State University, Ken Rea from Louisiana Tech University, and John Sutherlin from the University of Louisiana at Monroe.

“Today Dr. Authement and the Advisory Committee made our job easy because they identified five candidates that ought to be interviewed and considered for this position,” said UL System Board Member and Search Committee Vice Chair Andre Coudrain.

The interviews are tentatively scheduled for June 11 and 12 at the Claiborne Building in Baton Rouge but will be finalized depending on candidate and Board availability.

UL System Board Chair Elsie Burkhalter leads the eight–member search committee that will make the final recommendation to the Board. They include Andre Coudrain Committee Vice Chair, Winfred Sibille, Wayne Parker, Victor Bussie, Mildred Gallot, Jimmy Long, Sr. and Student Board Member Olinda Ricard.

Full applications and meeting agendas can be viewed at in the special Presidential Search section.

UL System President Sally Clausen will take over as the next Commissioner of Higher Education with the Louisiana Board of Regents at the end of June.


The largest university system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls approximately 80,000 students at the following eight universities: Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and University of Louisiana at Monroe.

For More Information Contact:
Jackie Tisdell