Five Semi-Finalists Selected for UNO Presidential Search

For Immediate Release: Nov. 15, 2011
Contact: Jackie Tisdell, 225-754-2705 or

Five Semi-Finalists Selected for UNO Presidential Search

NEW ORLEANS – Five candidates will be extended invitations to interview for the position of president of the University of New Orleans.  The interviews will take place on the New Orleans campus the week of Nov. 28 and will be open to the public.  A full schedule of meetings will be finalized and released as soon as possible.

“This is the next very important step in the presidential search process.  We had a very diverse pool of candidates from which to select individuals to interview,” said University of Louisiana System President and UNO Presidential Search Chair Randy Moffett.

The search committee charged with recommending at least two candidates to the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System met today on the Lakefront Campus to review applications and narrow the field for campus interviews.  Prior to their review, the committee received a report from search consultant Allen Koenig with R. H. Perry and Associates who presented four new candidate applications, bringing the total candidate pool to 12.  The full resumes for each applicant are available at .

“We received 60 nominations and 30 applications.  All were high caliber candidates and it was difficult to decide which to recommend to the search committee.  I feel the four I am presenting would be successful presidents,” said Koenig.

UL System Board Member and UNO Search Committee Member Andre Coudrain motioned to invite five semi-finalists for interviews which included the four recommended by Koenig and public applicant Colin Scanes.

“Having served on lots of presidential searches, I think the committee should focus on background skill and level of success at higher education institutions.  I am impressed with the consultant’s recommendations and also believe there is one candidate in the public pool that rises to this level,” said Coudrain.

The committee unanimously voted for the following semi-finalists:

·          Raymond W. Alden III , Executive Vice President and Provost at Northern Illinois University.  He earned a doctorate at the University of Florida.

·          Peter J. Fos,  Professor and Program Director of Health Policy and Systems Management at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans, and former Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs at the University of Texas at Tyler.  He earned a doctor of dentistry at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center and a doctorate from Tulane University.

·          Steven R. Goodman, Vice President for Research and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Professor of Pediatrics, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at State University of New York Upstate Medical University.  He earned a doctorate at Saint Louis University Medical School.

·          Colin G. Scanes , Professor of Biological Science and former Vice Chancellor of Research and Economic Development and Dean of the Graduate School at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.  He earned a doctorate at Hull University and the University of Wales.

·          Michael A. Wartell, Chancellor and Professor of Chemistry at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne.  He earned a doctorate at Yale University.

Each semi-finalist will spend an entire day on campus interacting with the search committee and university groups such as faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members.  On Friday, Dec. 2, the search committee will deliberate on campus and recommend at least two candidates to the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System, who will make the final selection at its Dec. 9 meeting in Baton Rouge.

Voting members on the committee include UL System Board Members Paul Aucoin of Thibodaux, Andre Coudrain of Hammond, David Guidry of Harvey, E. Gerald Hebert of Kenner, Renee Lapeyrolerie of New Orleans, Student Member John Lombardo of Thibodaux, Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches, Board Vice Chair D. Wayne Parker of Choudrant and Board Chair Winfred Sibille of Sunset.  Also serving as a voting member is UNO faculty representative Neal Maroney, who was selected by the UNO University Senate’s Executive Committee.

Serving in a non-voting, advisory capacity is Brian Glorioso, Susan Hess, John Mineo, and Gary Solomon.  UL System President Randy Moffett serves as the non-voting chair of the committee.

Candidate applications, meeting schedules, and other information can be found on the search website, .  To submit questions and comments about the search, you can send an email to .


ABOUT UNO: The University of New Orleans is a major research university in one of the world’s most fascinating cities. For more than 50 years, it has been one of the city’s foremost public resources, offering a diverse set of world-class, research-based programs, advancing shared knowledge and adding to the city’s industry, culture and economy.   Since 1958, UNO has educated students from all 64 Louisiana parishes, all 50 states in the United States and more than 100 countries.  Today UNO offers more than 60 undergraduate and pre-professional programs and more than 40 graduate programs.

ABOUT THE UL SYSTEM: The University of Louisiana System is the largest higher education system in the state enrolling about 83,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana  at Lafayette and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.  With the addition of the University of New Orleans pending SACS-COC approval, the UL System’s enrollment will grow to over 94,000 students.