Grambling Presidential Search Forum on Feb. 11

BATON ROUGE – The search committee charged with finding a new president for Grambling State University will meet on campus next week to gather public input.

WHAT:  Grambling Presidential Search Public Forum

WHEN:  1 p.m., Thursday, Feb. 11, 2010

WHERE: Auditorium in School of Nursing Building on the Grambling campus

The purpose of the public forum is for the search committee to hear thoughts on desired qualifications for a new president directly from faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members.

The search committee will meet prior to the hearing at 10:30 a.m.  The public is also invited to attend this meeting.  The agenda for both meetings is posted on a special search section of the UL System website,

Those who cannot attend can submit comments to the committee via email at

The 11-member Grambling Presidential Search Committee is comprised of University of Louisiana System Board Members Elsie Burkhalter, Edward Crawford, Mildred Gallot, Jeffrey Jenkins, Jimmy Long, Sr., D. Wayne Parker, Winfred Sibille, Student Board Member and Grambling Student Government Association President Steven Jackson and Grambling faculty representative Matthew Ware.  Wilbert Ellis serves as a non-voting community representative, and UL System President Randy Moffett is the non-voting chair.

The committee will engage a search firm to assist in the national search for Grambling’s eighth president.

Founded in 1901 as a private industrial school to educate African-American citizens in north central Louisiana, Grambling is a comprehensive university offering undergraduate, graduate, professional and continuing education programs.  Situated on a 370-acre campus in the small town of Grambling, the historically black university has almost 5,000 students.


EIGHT UNIVERSITIES STRONG: The largest higher education system in the state, the UL System enrolls almost 82,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.