Grambling’s Steven Jackson Elected New UL System Student Board Member

BATON ROUGE – Grambling State University Student Government Association President Steven Jackson will serve as the new student member on the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System. Jackson, who was elected by his fellow student leaders in the UL System, will serve a one-year term beginning in June.

“As a Board Member, I will build upon a strong foundation of student representation within the UL System and will strengthen the student voice on the Board. It will be an honor to work with the dedicated members of the Board along with the students, administrators, faculty and staff of our great eight institutions,” said Jackson.

A native of Shreveport, Jackson is a senior hotel and restaurant management major. He served as Grambling’s SGA Vice President last year and served as tuba section leader for Grambling’s “World Famed” Tiger Marching Band. He is one of seven children of Shreveport’s Patricia Jackson.

The UL System Board is comprised of 15 members appointed for six-year terms by the Governor of Louisiana and one student-member elected each year out of the eight-university SGA presidents.

“Steven is a bright, articulate young man who will be a good representative of the 80,000 students in our system. I, along with the Board, look forward to working with him this year,” said UL System President Randy Moffett.

In related action, the statewide Louisiana Council of Student Body Presidents elected Louisiana Tech University SGA President Allison Reynolds to serve as its Chair. In this capacity, Reynolds will serve as the voice for the organization that represents over 200,000 students from all Louisiana public colleges and universities.

For more information about the Board of Supervisors visit,


EIGHT UNIVERSITIES STRONG: The University of Louisiana System is the state’s largest higher education system with over 80,000 students enrolled at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.