Interviews Set for Louisiana Tech Presidential Search Semi-Finalists


Public Encouraged to Participate in On-Campus Meetings

Ruston, LA -The schedule has been released for the Louisiana Tech University Presidential Search semi-finalist interviews.  The two candidates will convene on the Ruston campus and interview with the search committee on Wednesday, Nov. 28.  On Thursday, Nov. 29, the search committee will deliberate and decide who to recommend to be interviewed by the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System on Dec. 4 in Baton Rouge.

“Next week will be very important to the future of Louisiana Tech University as the search committee interviews the two semi-finalists vying to become the university’s next president.  I strongly encourage the campus community to attend the public interviews, participate in the on-campus meetings, and provide feedback to the committee,” said UL System Board Chair and LA Tech Presidential Search Chair Wayne Parker.

The public interviews and search committee meeting will take place in the Howard Center for the Performing Arts on Tech’s campus.  They are scheduled as follows:

Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2012:

10:15 a.m. – LESLIE K. GUICE (Ph.D. – Texas A&M University), Executive Vice President and Vice President for Research and Development at Louisiana Tech University




1:30 p.m. – DUANE C. HRNCIR (Ph.D. – Texas A&M University), Acting President of South Dakota School of Mines and Technology




Thursday, Nov. 29, 2012:

  • 10 a.m. – Louisiana Tech University Presidential Search Committee Meeting

In addition to public interviews with the search committee, each semi-finalist will meet with faculty, staff, administrators, students, and community members.  A full schedule of meetings can be found at

At the interview sessions, attendees can submit questions they would like to be addressed to each semi-finalist, and comment cards will be available to provide feedback to the search committee.  Comment cards will also be available at each constituent meeting, and those who cannot participate in person can send comments to the committee via email at  The search committee will review all written comments and entertain public comments prior to making its final recommendations on Thursday, Nov. 29.

Voting members of the LA Tech search committee include UL System Board Members Edward Crawford of Shreveport, Student Member and Tech SGA President William Dearmon, Jimmy Faircloth of Alexandria, David Guidry of Harvey, Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches, Board Vice Chair Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Board Chair Wayne Parker of Choudrant, and Winfred Sibille of Sunset.  Also serving as a voting member is Tech faculty member Heath Tims.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are Ruston Mayor Dan Hollingsworth and Tech Foundation President-Elect Jack Byrd.  Parker serves as chair of the committee.

Founded in 1894, Louisiana Tech University is the only Carnegie Doctoral-High Research University and SREB Four-Year 2 Research University in north Louisiana.   The university offers a wide variety of bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral-level programs including well-known biomedical engineering and nanotechnology programs.  With over 11,000 students nestled in the piney hills of north Louisiana, Tech has a reputation of offering a private-college atmosphere at a public university.


The largest higher education system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls over 92,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and the University of New Orleans.