Louisiana Tech Presidential Search Committee meets Tuesday


By Sarah Eddington
Monroe NewsStar

The search committee appointed to find the next president of Louisiana Tech University will hold its first meeting and public forum on the Ruston campus Tuesday.

The Louisiana Tech University Presidential Search Committee will meet at the Student Center at 10:30 a.m., which will be followed by a public forum at 1 p.m. Both events are open to the public. The purpose of the public forum is to gather input from the campus community on desired qualifications for a new president.

Louisiana Tech President Dan Reneau announced earlier this month he will retire at the end of June after 46 years of service at the university, including 26 years as president.

University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors chairman Wayne Parker said the goal is to name Reneau’s successor by the end of the year or at least by the start of the next legislative session.

Tuesday’s meeting will be used to set a time frame and general framework for the search, in addition to other planning details.

During the forum, the public will be allowed to provide feedback and comments to the committee in regards to the search.

Parker said public input is usually a very effective tool during the presidential search process.

“It creates a very comprehensive guideline by which to move forward,” he said. “I sense there will be a lot of community input from the faculty, staff and community.”

Voting members of the committee include Parker and UL System board members Edward Crawford of Shreveport, student member and Tech SGA President William Dearmon, Jimmy Faircloth of Alexandria, David Guidry of Harvey, Jimmy Long Sr. of Natchitoches, board vice chairman Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge and Winfred Sibille of Sunset. Also serving as a voting member will be Heath Tims, assistant professor of mechanical engineering at Louisiana Tech and vice chair of the University Senate.

Serving as advisory, nonvoting members will be Ruston Mayor Dan Hollingsworth and Tech Foundation president-elect Jack Byrd. Parker will serve as chairman of the committee.

To get the latest information about the search, visit www.ulsystem.edu/LATECHsearch. Questions and comments can be emailed to LATECHpressearch@uls.state.la.us.