Meeting Changes for UL System and Louisiana Tech University Presidential Searches on Nov. 9


UL System Search Down to One; Nine Apply for LA Tech Presidency

BATON ROUGE – New meeting times have been set for Friday, Nov. 9 for the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System to hold a special meeting to interview and possibly select the new system president and the Louisiana Tech University Presidential Search Committee to review applications and choose candidates for interviews.

WHAT:     UL System and LA Tech Presidential Search Meetings

WHEN:     Friday, Nov. 9, 2012

9 a.m. – University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors Special Meeting
Noon – Louisiana Tech University Presidential Search Meeting

WHERE:   Auditorium, Room 1-100, Claiborne Building, 1201 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70802


PURPOSE: The UL System Board will interview Dr. Sandra Woodley and possibly select the next UL System President.  The Louisiana Tech Search Committee will review applications and select candidates to invite for interviews.

Both meetings are open to the public and will be webcasted live.  To view meeting agendas go to or the respective search websites, and

UL System presidential candidate Sandra Woodley is the Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives at the University of Texas System.  Prior to her current role in the UT System, Woodley served as Strategic Planner and Chief Financial Officer for the Arizona Board of Regents; Vice President of Finance, Planning and Performance for the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education; and Associate Executive Director of the Alabama Commission on Higher Education.  She holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Master of Business Administration from Auburn University and a Doctor of Business Administration-Management from Nova Southeastern University.

Woodley’s interview with the UL System Board will start at 9 a.m.

Following the UL System Board Meeting, the 11-member Louisiana Tech Presidential Search Committee will convene at noon to review applications and select candidates to interview for the campus presidency.

To date, the following nine candidates have applied to become Louisiana Tech University’s next president (listed in alphabetical order with highest degree earned and with most recent employment noted):

John M. Beehler (Ph.D. – Indiana University)
Founding Vice President for Research, Economic Development and Public Engagement, University of North Texas at Dallas;

John R. Dew (Ed.D. – University of Tennessee)
Senior Vice Chancellor, Student Services and Administration, Troy University;

Marshall R. Goodman (Ph.D. – The Ohio State University)
Professor of Political Science and former Regional Chancellor, University of South Florida Polytechnic;

Leslie K. Guice (Ph.D. – Texas A&M University)
Executive Vice President and Vice President for Research and Development, Louisiana Tech University;

Duane C. Hrncir (Ph.D. – Texas A&M University)
Acting President, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology;

Lesley Lovett-Doust (Ph.D. – University of Wales)
Professor of Biology and former President and Vice-Chancellor, Nipissing University, Ontario, Canada;

Peter U. Nwangwu (Ph.D. and Pharm. D. – University of Nebraska Medical Center)
Community Pharmacist, Albertsons Drug Store; former Executive Assistant to the President, University of Nigeria, Nsukka;

Gary A. Olson (Ph.D. – Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Professor of English and former Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Idaho State University; and

Scott D. Ryan (Ph.D. – Case Western Reserve University)
Dean and Professor, School of Social Work, The University of Texas at Arlington.

Voting members of the LA Tech search committee include UL System Board Members Edward Crawford of Shreveport, Student Member and Tech SGA President William Dearmon, Jimmy Faircloth of Alexandria, David Guidry of Harvey, Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches, Board Vice Chair Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Board Chair Wayne Parker of Choudrant, and Winfred Sibille of Sunset.  Also serving as a voting member is Tech faculty member Heath Tims.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are Ruston Mayor Dan Hollingsworth and Tech Foundation President-Elect Jack Byrd.  Parker serves as chair of the committee.

Founded in 1894, Louisiana Tech University is the only Carnegie Doctoral-High Research University and SREB Four-Year 2 Research University in north Louisiana.  The university offers a wide variety of bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral-level programs including well-known biomedical engineering and nanotechnology programs.  With over 11,000 students nestled in the piney hills of north Louisiana, Tech has a reputation of offering a private-college atmosphere at a public university.


The largest higher education system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls over 92,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and the University of New Orleans.