Monroe Mayor Added to ULM Presidential Search Committee

BATON ROUGE – Monroe Mayor James E. “Jamie” Mayo will become the 14th member of the University of Louisiana at Monroe Presidential Search Committee.  Mayo, who addressed the committee at last week’s public forum on campus, was appointed as an advisory member upon the recommendation of University of Louisiana System Board Chair Winfred Sibille.

“Mayor Mayo has a deep appreciation of the role ULM plays in the economic and cultural vitality of Northeast Louisiana, and I believe he will be a valuable addition to the search committee,” said UL System President and ULM Presidential Search Committee Chair Randy Moffett.

A graduate of ULM with a degree in Business Administration, Mayo has served as Mayor of the City of Monroe since 2001.

“I appreciate Dr. Moffett extending an invitation for me to be a part of the University of Louisiana at Monroe Presidential Search Committee.  I look forward to working with the outstanding group of committee members that have been assembled.  I have no doubt we will do our best to recommend the best possible candidates to be the next leader of ULM,” said Mayo.

He joins community representative Tex Kilpatrick and Chair Moffett as non-voting, advisory members to the 14-member search committee.  Voting members are UL System Board Members Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Mildred Gallot of Grambling, Edward Crawford of Shreveport, E. Gerald Hebert of Kenner, Jimmy Long, Sr. of Natchitoches, Renee Lapeyrolerie of New Orleans, D. Wayne Parker of Choudrant, Carl Shetler of Lake Charles, Winfred Sibille of Sunset, Student Board Member and ULM Student Government Association President Brook Sebren and faculty representative Anna Hill.

The search committee held its inaugural meeting last Thursday on campus followed by a public forum where 21 people shared their views on the presidential search.  Video of the public forum can now be viewed on a special YouTube site devoted to the search,

Also, photos and other information about the search can be found at

Founded in 1931, ULM is a selective admissions university classified as a Carnegie Master’s L (large) and SREB Four-Year 3 institution.  The university offers several undergraduate and graduate degrees to over 9,000 traditional, non-traditional and distance-learning students.  The 238-acre campus located in northeastern Louisiana is home to the only state-supported College of Pharmacy.


EIGHT UNIVERSITIES STRONG: The University of Louisiana System is the largest higher education system in the state enrolling almost 82,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and the University of Louisiana at Monroe.