Northwestern State University Presidential Search Committee Advances Three Semifinalists

July 8, 2024 – Today, the Northwestern State University (NSU) Presidential Search Committee met in Baton Rouge to review applications for the NSU presidency. The search committee selected three semifinalists to interview in person for NSU’s next president.

The semifinalists are:

  • Jose Cantu, Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management, University of Colorado
  • James Genovese, Associate Justice of the Louisiana Supreme Court, District 3
  • Richard Riccardi, Deputy Commissioner for Academic Affairs and Student Success, Department of Higher Education, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

“The candidates selected bring unique strengths to NSU with their dedication to public service and commitment to student success,” said Rick Gallot, UL System president. “We look forward to learning more about each of our semifinalist candidates through in-person interviews and hearing how their various backgrounds and experience are the right fit to advance the mission of NSU.”

In-person interviews are scheduled for July 16 on NSU’s campus. On July 18, the UL System Board of Supervisors will interview finalists and select the next NSU president.

The UL System will release a detailed interview schedule when it is finalized. In addition to public interviews, candidates will meet with NSU faculty, staff, students, alumni, and community members.

“I look forward to interviewing the semifinalists alongside my fellow students,” said Northwestern Student Government Association President Terrell “TJ” Woodard. “This is an important opportunity to ensure our next president is someone who understands and prioritizes the academic and extracurricular needs of our student body. We are eager to hear their plans to enhance student life at NSU and build an environment where all students can thrive.”

The search committee’s voting members include members of the Board of Supervisors: Mark Romero, Elizabeth Pierre, Barry Busada, Dr. John Noble, Alejandro “AI” Perkins, Lola Dunahoe, Joe Salter, Drew Brown and NSU Faculty Senate President Dr. Frank Serio.

Serving as advisory, non-voting members are the following: UL System President Rick Gallot; the Honorable Judge Cade Cole; NSU Alumni Angelique Freel, Doug Ireland, Gail Jones, Representative Jeremy LaCombe, Tommy McClelland, and Robert “Skeeter” Salim; NSU Alumni Association President Leah Sherman Middlebrook; and NSU Student Government Association President Terrell “TJ” Woodard.

For more details on the NSU presidential search, click here. Questions and comments can be submitted here.