-REMINDER- Southeastern Louisiana University Presidential Search Committee to Meet Jan. 30

HAMMOND, La. – The committee tasked with naming a new president of Southeastern Louisiana University will meet on the Hammond campus at 1:15 p.m., Friday, Jan. 30.
WHAT: Southeastern Louisiana University Presidential Search Committee Meeting
WHEN: 1:15 p.m., Friday, Jan. 30, 2009
WHERE: Southeastern Alumni Center, 500 W. University Avenue in Hammond
The purpose of the meeting will be to review candidate applications, go over the timeline, and discuss next steps including the selection of candidates for public interviews.  The UL System’s goal is to name a new president by mid-spring.
To date, 15 have applied for the top position.  They are are:
  • Klint W. Alexander, Senior Lecturer of Law and International Affairs/Director of the Pre-Law Program at Vanderbilt University.  Alexander earned a Ph.D. in International Relations from Cambridge University.
  • David Bejou, Dean of the School of Business, Virginia State University. Bejou earned a Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of Memphis. 
  • Lemuel Berry, Consultant with Educational Consultant, Inc.  Berry earned a Ph.D. in Musical Education from the University of Iowa.
  • Nick J. Bruno, Vice President for Business and Finance for the University of Louisiana System. Bruno earned a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from the University of Mississippi.
  • John L. Crain, Interim President of Southeastern Louisiana University. Crain earned a Ph.D. in Accountancy from the University of Mississippi. 
  • Harley d’Entremont, Former Director of Academic Staff Relations and Academic Vice President (Francophone Affairs), Laurentian University, Ontario. D’Entremont earned a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Western Ontario. 
  • John F. Garmon, Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Academic Support Services at Dhofar University, Salalah, Sultanate of Oman.  Garmon earned a Ph.D. in American and British Literature from Ball State University.
  • Jimmy H. Ishee, Dean of the School of Health Sciences at Texas Woman’s University. Ishee earned a Ph.D. in Movement Science and Physical Education from Florida State University. 
  • Stephen L. Jones, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs with the U.S. Department of Defense, Health Affairs. Jones earned a Doctor of Health Administration from the Medical University of South Carolina. 
  • Larry F. Lemanski, Senior Vice President for Research and Strategic Initiatives at Temple University.  Lemanski earned a Ph.D. in Zoology from Arizona State University.
  • Peter Maphumulo, Executive Vice President for Instructional Services at Bellevue Community College.  Maphumulo earned a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from Washington State University.
  • Michael D. Parsons, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of South Carolina Beaufort. Parsons earned a Ph.D. in Higher Education from Indiana University. 
  • F. Lamar Pritchard, Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Louisiana at Monroe. Pritchard earned a Ph.D. in Pharmacy from the University of Georgia. 
  • Gregory S. Sojka, Special Projects Consultant to the Board of Trustees, University of Rio Grande. Sojka earned a Ph.D. in English from Indiana University. 
  • Gerard Voland, Dean of the College of Engineering, Technology and Computer Science at Indiana University -Purdue University Fort Wayne. Voland earned a Ph.D. in Engineering Design from Tufts University.
The full resumes and cover letters for each applicant are available at www.ulsystem.edu/slucandidates
The committee will also receive a report by search consultant Greenwood/Asher and Associates.
Voting members of the 10-member committee include UL System Board Members Andre Coudrain of Hammond, Elsie Burkhalter of Slidell, Russell Mosely of Baton Rouge, Wayne Parker of Ruston, Winfred Sibille of Sunset, and Student Board Member Morgan Verrette of Lake Charles. Also serving as a voting member is Southeastern Faculty Senate Representative Joseph Burns.
Serving in a non-voting, advisory capacity are Southeastern Student Government Association President Zealon Solomon and community representative Daryl Ferrara who was selected by the Hammond Chamber of Commerce.  UL System President Randy Moffett serves as the non-voting chair.
With more than 15,000 students, Southeastern is Louisiana’s third largest public university. The university was recently named "a great college to work for" by the Chronicle of Higher Education.
Since 1990, Southeastern has been one of the fastest growing universities in the state, with an enrollment growth that has exceeded the state average. At the same time, the university increased admission requirements and its regional and statewide profile. This fall, the percentage of incoming freshmen with an ACT of 24 or above increased 19 percent.
The university is a catalyst for economic development along I-12, playing a central role in workforce development, strategic partnerships, the generation and transfer of ideas and technology and enhancing the quality of life in communities throughout the region.
For more information about the Southeastern search, including the advertisement placed in local and national publications and an independent review of the Southeastern campus, visit the UL System’s website at www.ulsystem.edu and click on the Southeastern search icon.