The University of Louisiana Monroe Presidential Search Committee voted to extend its timeline in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Originally the committee planned to interview candidates on campus next week and select the university’s leader in May. Instead, the committee will hold interviews the week of Aug. 17, the first week of classes for the Fall 2021 semester. Finalists will be selected and interviewed the following week by the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System.

“While many of us have adjusted to a more virtually-driven world, the committee agreed that extending the timeline would allow the greatest stakeholder engagement. We also had to consider the dynamism of COVID-19 and the possibility of continued restriction,” Dr. Jim Henderson, UL System president and ULM Presidential Search Committee chair, said. “An extension of several weeks can feel like an eternity during a process like this, but we are making a decision with generational impact.”

The search committee also elected to schedule a meeting on May 18 to select semifinalists for the position. The committee is currently considering the following 18 candidates:

Katrice Albert, Founder and Principal, Third Eye Consulting Group, LLC
Ronald Berry, Dean, College of Business and Social Sciences, ULM
Stephen Condon, Chancellor and Professor of Education, Piedmont International University
Joe Delap, Provost, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Tenured Professor, Athens State University
Nara Gavini, Executive Director, Massachusetts General Hospital
Maurice Gipson, Vice Chancellor and formerly Chief Diversity Officer, Arkansas State University
Daniel Heimmermann, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, The University of Texas Permian Basin
Timothy Holcomb, Associate Professor Fellow, Farmer School of Business Endres, Miami University
Joby John, Tom Galloway Endowed Professor of Marketing, formerly Dean and Professor of Marketing, UL Lafayette
Jeannine Kahn, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, UL System
Julia Letlow, Executive Assistant to the President for External Affairs and Community Outreach, ULM
Edward Markle, Attorney, Partner and General Owner, Markle and Associates
James Marquart, Special Assistant to the President and formerly Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Lamar University
Sheri McMahan, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, California State University- Fullerton
Alberto Ruiz, Vice President for Academic Affairs, ULM
Daniel Sniff, Executive Director Academic Partnerships and Academic Professional Professor in the College of Environment and Design, University of Georgia
Ivy Taylor, Consultant of J. L. Powers and Associates and Former Mayor of San Antonio, Texas
Chioma Rita Ugochukwu, Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, Cabrini University

“Though we find ourselves in trying times, this committee has proven to be one of thoughtful leaders with ULM’s best interest at heart,” UL System Board Chair Mark Romero said. “Choosing high-quality university leadership, though our Board’s most challenging tasks, is one we do with much pride and excitement and I am confident we are poised to make the right choice for ULM.”

The ULM Search Committee is chaired by UL System President Jim Henderson and includes UL System Board members, various stakeholders, and community members.

Dr. Jim Henderson (Non-Voting), Search Committee Chair and University of Louisiana System President
Mark Romero, UL System Board Chair
Elizabeth Pierre, UL System Board Parliamentarian
Lola Donahoe, UL System Board Member
Rachel Lautigar, UL System Student Board Member
Mildred “Mimi” Methvin, UL System Board Member
Shawn Murphy, UL System Board Member
Alejandro “Al” Perkins, UL System Board Member
Virgil Robinson, UL System Board Member
Joe Salter, UL System Board Member
Dr. Janelle McDaniel, ULM Faculty Senate
Carl Aron (Non-Voting), State Pharmacy Board
Olivia Bailey (Non-Voting), ULM SGA President
Dennis Blunt (Non-Voting), ULM Alumni
Sara Benecke Brice (Non-Voting), ULM Alumni Association President
Alberta Brown Green (Non-Voting), ULM Foundation Board of Trustees
Susan Hoffman (Non-Voting), ULM Foundation Board of Trustees
Hannah Livingston (Non-Voting), Former SGA president
Jamie Mayo (Non-Voting), City of Monroe Mayor
James Moore, III (Non-Voting), Monroe Chamber Board Chair
Jeremy Tinnerello (Non-Voting), Glenwood Regional Medical Center CEO
James Wright (Non-Voting), Former ULM Student Athlete

In January, Dr. Nick Bruno revealed his plans to retire in June after nearly a decade of service to the university within his 45 years of state service. Information regarding the search is available at

View a recording of today’s meeting here