UL System Universities to Present WISE Plans Next Week


Campus Presentations in Conjunction with October Board Meeting

BATON ROUGE, La. – The University of Louisiana System’s nine universities will present plans for the Workforce and Innovation for a Stronger Economy (WISE) Fund next week in conjunction with the UL System Board of Supervisors meeting in Baton Rouge.  The presentations will take place during the Strategy and Performance Committee meetings on Wednesday afternoon and Thursday morning.

WHAT:   Campus WISE Presentations to the UL System Strategy and Performance Committee

WHERE: Room 136 A-B (Wednesday) and Room 100 (Thursday), Claiborne Building, 1201 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA

WHEN: Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014
                1:00 p.m.             McNeese State University
                1:30 p.m.             Southeastern Louisiana University
                2:30 p.m.             University of Louisiana at Monroe
                3:00 p.m.             Louisiana Tech University
                3:30 p.m.             Northwestern State University

                Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014
                8:00 a.m.              University of Louisiana at Lafayette
                8:30 a.m.              University of New Orleans
                9:30 a.m.              Nicholls State University
                10:00 a.m.           Grambling State University

Act 803 of the Louisiana Legislature’s 2014 Regular Session established the WISE Fund to increase degree and certificate production in high demand fields and spur additional research and innovation in alignment with industry needs.  The UL System’s share of the $36.5 million WISE Fund distribution totals $9.5 million.  In order to receive its distribution, each campus implementation plan must first be approved by the UL System, then the WISE Council and Louisiana Board of Regents.

Visit www.ulsystem.edu/BoardMeetings to download the full schedule of meetings, agendas, and backup materials.


ABOUT THE UL SYSTEM: The University of Louisiana System is the largest higher education system in Louisiana enrolling almost 89,000 students at Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and the University of New Orleans.