ULS Board Awards $439,000 to Eight Universities for Performance

ULS Board Awards $439,000 to Eight Universities for Performance – Apr 26, 2002

The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System (ULS) today awarded checks from $41,000 to $71,000 to its eight universities based in part on how well they keep and graduate students.

“We agree with citizens who demand accountability from their public schools, universities and students. That’s why we put a premium on performance,” said ULS President Dr. Sally Clausen.

“This program gives our universities cash incentives to work with K-12 schools to reduce the need for remedial courses in college. We also measure how well our universities retain TOPS scholarship recipients, achieve program accreditation, and graduate students,” she said.

Dr. Clausen said taxpayers get more value for their investments in higher education when students are ready for and succeed in college.

“It’s more efficient and economical – both for families and the state – when students are ready for college. They are more likely to stay in school and graduate.”

The $438,938 in performance funding was made available to the UL System this fiscal year by the Legislature and Board of Regents.

The ULS Board approved criteria for distributing the funds, and the universities submitted performance data in seven areas:
•Academic program accreditation rates
•Freshman-to-sophomore retention rates
•Graduation rates
•Reduction of remedial costs and hours taught
•Percent of TOPS students eligible to return
•Accomplishments in the Unique Areas of Excellence
•Performance on financial and compliance audits

Following is the list of ULS schools and the amounts they received: Grambling State University, $41,112; Louisiana Tech University, $69,536; McNeese State University, $50,538; Nicholls State University, $46,794; Northwestern State University, $51,622; Southeastern Louisiana University, $60,701; the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, $71,701; and the University of Louisiana at Monroe, $46,944.

For More Information Contact:
Catherine Heitman