ULS Board Executive Committee to Meet Next Week

BATON ROUGE – The Executive Committee of the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System will meet in Baton Rouge on Wednesday, July 16 to take up university business, discuss UL System President Randy Moffett’s employment compensation, and name an interim president for Southeastern Louisiana University.

WHAT: UL System Board Executive Committee Meeting

WHEN: 10 a.m., Wednesday, July 16, 2008

WHERE: Room 155, Claiborne Building, 1201 N. Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA

A special Presidential Compensation Committee Meeting will take place prior to the Executive Committee Meeting at 9 a.m. in the seventh floor UL System Conference Room. The Board of Supervisors named Southeastern President Randy Moffett as the new UL System President at its regularly scheduled meeting last month. President Moffett has begun transitioning into his new position, while maintaining his current duties at Southeastern.

University items up for committee approval include Northwestern State University’s request to enter into a five-year lease agreement with Barnes & Noble College Booksellers, Inc. and Southeastern Louisiana University’s request for an exchange agreement with the Università degli Studi di Verona (Verona University) of Verona, Italy.

Executive Committee members include Board Chair Elsie Burkhalter, Board Vice Chair Winfred Sibille, Wayne Parker, Andre Coudrain, Mildred Gallot, Jimmy Long, Sr., and Russell Mosely. The Presidential Compensation Committee consists of Burkhalter, Coudrain, Parker, and Sibille. The Executive Committee Meeting agenda can be accessed at www.ulsystem.edu, click on “Board of Supervisors” and “Board Meetings


The largest university system in Louisiana, the UL System enrolls approximately 80,000 students at the following eight universities: Grambling State University, Louisiana Tech University, McNeese State University, Nicholls State University, Northwestern State University, Southeastern Louisiana University, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and University of Louisiana at Monroe.