The University of New Orleans Presidential Search Committee voted to accept their charge and approve the search timeline at today’s inaugural search committee meeting. The timeline is subject to change at the committee’s discretion.

Aug. 4 – Preferred date for applications
Aug. 11 – Committee receives list of candidates
Aug.17 – Committee meets in Baton Rouge to review applicant materials and select semifinalists
Aug. 28 – On-campus interviews occur this week and finalists selected
Sept. 14 – Finalists presented to full Board of Supervisors and president selected

Following the Search Committee meeting, the Executive Committee of the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System named the System’s vice president for academic affairs and provost, Dr. Jeannine O’Rourke, interim president for the University of New Orleans effective July 1. Dr. O’Rourke holds more than 30 years of higher education experience and received her doctorate from UNO in 2001. Dr. O’Rourke will return to her duty as System provost upon selection of a permanent president.

Additionally, Dr. Kedrick Nicholas, McNeese State University’s dean of student affairs, will chair the transition process working with the UNO faculty delegate to the Search Committee Dr. Chris Broadhurst, student leadership, staff, and interim president Dr. O’Rourke. That team will engage in a robust institutional review to produce a plan instructive to the Search Committee, Board, and new president. He will report directly to UL System President and CEO Dr. Jim Henderson. Dr. Nicholas will begin this work June 1.

Information regarding the search will be housed on the System’s website at A recording of today’s Search Committee meeting is available here.

Dr. John Nicklow has served in the University of New Orleans’ top post since March 2016 after a year as the institution’s provost and vice president for academic affairs. Dr. Nicklow was named the president of Florida Institute of Technology and will assume that position on July 1.